Local Election Results May 2021

There were no seismic shifts in the political representation in Elmbridge, but a number of long-serving councillors stood down making way for some new faces. In the Weybridge area we welcome Judy Sarsby as the new councillor for Weybridge Riverside and Ananya Banerjee for the Oatlands & Burwood Park ward. Peter Harman was re-elected in Weybridge St George’s Hills.

The LibDem council group elected a new leader, Bruce McDonald, newly elected in Claygate, and Deputy Leader, Mike Rollings. Read here about the new members of the administration for the Borough.

Tim Oliver continues to represent the Weybridge division in the County Council. However, you may have read about some crumbling of the ‘blue wall’ in the south east, part of which was the Lib Dems gaining 5 seats on Surrey County Council, resulting in the largest Lib Dem Group at County Hall since 1997. The Lib Dems now have 14 County Councillors in Surrey: 5 from Guildford, 4 from Waverley, 2 from Mole Valley, 2 from Woking and 1 from Tandridge. The party narrowly missed out on winning a further 5 seats by 173 votes or less. Read here about the Group’s new leader.

Overall, the Conservatives lost 14 seats in this Surrey County Council election, leaving them with 47 of the 81 seats on the Council.

Here are the Weybridge and Oatlands results in both Elmbridge Borough and Surrey County elections:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *